Planning Commission

The City of Aitkin is constantly looking for ways to improve the quality of life for our residents and guests. 

The Planning Commission's duties include hearing and deciding applications for land use reviews, including site plan review, conditional use permits, changes or expansions of a nonconforming use, variances, and land subdivisions. In addition, the Planning Commission makes recommendations to the city council on planning decisions, including proposed rezoning, street and alley vacations, public land sales, zoning code text amendments, and amendments to the comprehensive plan.


The Commission Members include:

  • Mayor, Megan Workman (Chairman)
  • Trevor Betley
  • Mark Jeffers
  • Steven Loscheider
  • Robert Munneke
  • Paul Ryan


Planning Commission Meetings are held on the 4th Monday of each Month starting at 6:00 p.m. at the Aitkin Public Library.  These meetings are open to the public.

** For Zoning Ordinance information please refer to the City Ordinances.